The earliest departments in San Juan County were started in the 1950s. San Juan County first recognized these departments in 1962. The volunteer fire departments, along with the County Fire Marshal, were consolidated in 2001 to create the San Juan County Fire Department. The Fire Department now has a Fire Chief, a Deputy Fire Chief, 6 Division Chiefs, and 10 District Chiefs.

 San Juan County Fire Department consists of an Administration Office and 10 volunteer fire districts operating out of 22 stations with approximately 250 ACTIVE volunteers. They provide First Response Fire/Medical Services in conjunction with Paramedic Ambulances, first response hazardous materials, fire suppression, wild-land firefighting and rescue services including water, high angle, search and rescue and vehicle extrication. All new recruits are trained to IFSAC Firefighter I & II level in the first year.

Mission Statement

Serving a Stronger Community

Vision Statement

Provide professional and progressive volunteer emergency services.

facebook twitter EverBridge

Follow us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Sign up for Everbridge